Back To Resources

Hearing Our Brothers Part 3 - Quinn Gamon

00:00 00:00

In this three-part series we are seeking to hear from some of our African-American brothers within Faith Bible Church for the purpose of understanding their experiences and knowing how we can serve, love and pray for them and most of all seek unity as a church.

  • Recommended Resources from the Gamons
  • Have read and recommend:

    Stamped From the Beginning by Ibram X. Kendi

    Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson

    Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglas

    The Souls of Black Folk by W.E.B. Dubois

    Woke Church by Dr. Eric Mason

    A Cross Shaped Gospel by Bryan Lorritts

    The Gospel in Color put out by We Are Patrol

    The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson

    His Testimonies, My Heritage edited by Kristie Anyabwile

    Lies my Teacher Told Me by James W. Loewen (also comes in a teen version)

    Be Free or Die, the story of Robert Smalls by Cate Lineberry

    Fierce Convictions: The Extraordinary Life of Hannah More--Poet, Reformer,

    Abolitionist by Karen Swallow Prior

    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

    Black Pioneers of Science and Invention by Louis Haber

    More Than a Slave, the Life of Katherine Ferguson by Margaret D. Pagan

    On my reading list:

    The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander

    Dream With Me by Dr. John Perkins

    The Color of Compromise by Jemar Tisby

    If God Is For Us by Trillia Newbill

    Jude by Jackie Hill Perry

    White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo

    Mother to Son, Letters to a Black Boy on Identity and Hope by Jasmine L Holmes

    Older kids:

    The Gospel in Color for kids

    Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor

    Amos Fortune, Free Man by Elizabeth Yates

    The Watsons Go to Birmingham by Christopher Paul Curtis

    Hidden Figures (junior version) by Margot Lee Shetterly

    Stella by Starlight by Sharon M. Draper

    Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

    Younger kids:

    “Little Legend” series by Vashti Harrison

    Godʼs Very Good Idea by Trillia Newbill

    Moses by Carole Boston Weatherford

    This is the Gospel by Kids Read Truth

    God Made Me and You by Shai Linne

    The Lordʼs Prayer, illustrated by Tim Ladwig

    Love Made by Quina Aragon

    The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander

    The Story of Martin Luther King Jr. (board book) by Johnny Ray Moore

    A Poem for Peter by Andrea Davis Pinkney

    Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement by Carole

    Boston Weatherford

    Sit-In: How Four Friends Stood Up by Sitting Down by Andrea Davis Pinkney

    Martinʼs Big Words (Big Words): The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. by Doreen Rappaport

    Social Media sites:

    Jackie Hill Perry (jackiehillperry)

    Preston Perry (preston_n_perry)

    Jemar Tisby (jemartisby)

    AND campaign (andcampaign)

    Kristie Anyabwile (kristieanyabwile)

    Trillia Newbell (trillianewbell)

    Lecrae (lecrae)

    Trip Lee (triplee116)

    Charlie Dates (charliedates)

    Eric Mason (pastoremase)

    H.B. Charles Jr (hbcharlesjr)

    Michael Anderson Jr (mrtandersonjr)

    Benjamin Watson (FB only)

    Blair Linne (blair.linne)

    Jasmine Holmes (jasminelholmes)

    Podcasts:

    Thirty minutes with the Perrys

    Footnotes with Jemar Tisby

    Listen:

    MLK 50 conference put on by The Gospel Coalition

S:3 E:27

  

Subscribe to the Family of Faith Podcast:

Listen on Google Play Music

Download File(s)

Download MP3